Starting Sept. 30, 2014, Genealogy.com will be making a big change. GenForum message boards, Family Tree Maker homepages, and the most popular articles will be preserved in a read-only format, while several other features will no longer be available, including member subscriptions and the Shop.
 
Learn more


Chat | Daily Search | My GenForum | Community Standards | Terms of Service
Jump to Forum
Home: General Topics: Ultimate Family Tree Genealogy Forum

Post FollowupReturn to Message ListingsPrint Message

Re: Problems Opening New Version 3.0
Posted by: Michael V. McCarthy Date: May 20, 2000 at 15:53:21
In Reply to: Re: Problems Opening New Version 3.0 by Pauline of 11492

G'Day Pauline,
Glad to have been of some help.
I have also never seen anything written about NOT having 2 UFT Icons on the desktop, however, I have experienced the problem I described EVERY time I put up 2 Icons, irrespective of what versions are involved. Without making ANY other changes to my setup I got the program to work just by deleting 1 Icon. So I guess it is personal experience rather than the pitiful lack of G.c Tech Support which caused me to 'discover' this problem and advise others of it.(This comment of course EXCLUDES the Terrific support provided by both Melissa and Blue).
AFTER BACKUP- BACKUP-BACKUP,
You can simply "Right Click" on the UFT 2.8 Icon then "Delete". You can NOW go to UFT 3 and create an Icon on your Desktop and it will work.
Re Data use - You have two choices after BACKUP - BACKUP - BACKUP
1. SHARE your data between BOTH 2.8 and 3.0 as I described OR
2. COPY all the appropriate FILES from UFT 2.8 across to UFT 3.0 and then, after you are satisfied that UFT 3.0 is working properly and has ALL your data available, you can DELETE UFT 2.8.
Unless you have a disc space problem I would be inclined to SHARE the data between both versions, at least until YOU become more comfortable with the Program and choose to move the files across to UFT 3.0 in you own time.
SHARING data is not really a problem - when you use 3 with the data you share with 2.8 it will UPDATE on BOTH versions. IMPORTANT - do NOT forget that BOTH versions are connected to the same data base so do NOT DELETE Version 2.8 until AFTER you have COPIED ALL appropriate files across to UFT 3 and checked that they are working properly. If you DELETE UFT 2.8 WITHOUT copting data to UFT 3 you will LOSE ALL DATA as the files will be deleted with the program and have to start again from scratch - NOT a very pleasant exercise.
BEFORE you open a Project in 3.0 I suggest you download and install the UFT 3.1 Patch, this seems to work better if done FIRST.
Hope this helps with your problem.
RGDS
Michael V. McCarthy
AUSTRALIA


Followups:

Post FollowupReturn to Message ListingsPrint Message

http://genforum.genealogy.com/uft/messages/4823.html
Search this forum:

Search all of GenForum:

Proximity matching
Add this forum to My GenForum Agreement of Use
Link to GenForum
Add Forum
Home |  Help |  About Us |  Site Index |  Jobs |  PRIVACY |  Affiliate
© 2007 The Generations Network