Big changes have come to — all content is now read-only, and member subscriptions and the Shop have been discontinued.
Learn more

Chat | Daily Search | My GenForum | Community Standards | Terms of Service
Jump to Forum
Home: Regional: U.S. States: Ohio: Knox County

Post FollowupReturn to Message ListingsPrint Message

Evolution of Knox County Townships
Posted by: Diana Gale Matthiesen Date: May 07, 2001 at 04:57:20
  of 1039

I desperately need an accurate history/evolution of the Townships of Knox Co., OH. I'm in Florida, so my local libraries have nothing to help me. The first four chapter of Norton's (1862) "History of Knox County, Ohio" are online, and I was able to glean from it that:

Knox Co. was formed from Fairfield Co. on 30 Jan 1808. The first division of the county, into four townships, was on 2 May 1808. These first four townships were Wayne, Clinton, Morgan, and Union.

Wayne then comprised what is today: Franklin and Chester in Morrow Co., plus Middlebury, Berlin, Wayne, and the north half of Morris.

Clinton then comprised what is today: Bloomfield in Morrow Co., plus Liberty, the north half of Pleasant, Monroe, Pike, and the south half of Morris.

Union then comprised what is today: Brown, Jefferson, Union, Howard, Butler, Jackson, three-quarters of Harrison and the east half of Clay.

Morgan then comprised what is today: the west half of Clay, the southwest quarter of Harrison, the south half of Pleasant, and all of Morgan, Miller, Milford and Hilliar.

Any help greatly appreciated.


Post FollowupReturn to Message ListingsPrint Message
Search this forum:

Search all of GenForum:

Proximity matching
Add this forum to My GenForum Agreement of Use
Link to GenForum
Add Forum
Home |  Help |  About Us |  Site Index |  Jobs |  PRIVACY |  Affiliate
© 2007 The Generations Network