Starting Sept. 5, 2014, Genealogy.com will be making a big change. GenForum message boards, Family Tree Maker homepages, and the most popular articles will be preserved in a read-only format, while several other features will no longer be available, including member subscriptions and the Shop.
 
Learn more


Chat | Daily Search | My GenForum | Community Standards | Terms of Service
Jump to Forum
Home: Surnames: Marinelli Family Genealogy Forum

Post FollowupReturn to Message ListingsPrint Message

Re: Dominic Marinelli- c.1911 Abruzzi region
Posted by: Dominic R. Marinelli Date: December 13, 2000 at 05:24:45
In Reply to: Dominic Marinelli- c.1911 Abruzzi region by N Marinelli of 81

My name is Dominic Marinelli. I'm 20 years old and was named after my great-grandfather. I don't think we're closely related, but some things you mentioned are interestingly similar to my family's recent history. Dominic, my g-gf, was born in Italy(Ancona?) and came over here when my grandfather, Marcello, was an infant. They settled in the the Philadelphia/New Jersey area. Dominic and his wife Bruna had over 10 children (I think), and most of them and their families still live down there. My grandfather traveled around the northeast because of his job and never moved back down to Philly. He and my grandmother, along with most of their children and grandchildren, now reside in Vermont. I'm an only child of divorced parents, born and raised in Boston, so I'm not too familiar with any of my distant Marinelli relatives. Actually, I'm far more Irish (O'Brien) than Italian. My knowledge of our family history is foggy, so I'm really trying to find out more. We're probably not cousins, but who knows?

As far as your question about education and the arts. Neither my father(physical therapist) or my grandfather(engineer) went that route. However, my grandfather's wife was a librarian, and my mother was a high school teacher for a short time, with a long-term goal to become a pscychologist(counseling?). So the men in my family may be attracted to women with those careers. I'm a different story. I'm a student at the University of Oklahoma(Go Sooners!), where I originally was majoring in Musical Theatre. Now I'm in Geography, but I'm interested in teaching secondary education. My fiancee was a Drama major, but is now in Elementary Education. So that supports my theory of men in my family being attracted to... Anyway, glad to share with you some info, and thanks for sharing some of yours.















Followups:
No followups yet

Post FollowupReturn to Message ListingsPrint Message

http://genforum.genealogy.com/marinelli/messages/17.html
Search this forum:

Search all of GenForum:

Proximity matching
Add this forum to My GenForum Agreement of Use
Link to GenForum
Add Forum
Home |  Help |  About Us |  Site Index |  Jobs |  PRIVACY |  Affiliate
© 2007 The Generations Network