Starting Sept. 5, 2014, will be making a big change. GenForum message boards, Family Tree Maker homepages, and the most popular articles will be preserved in a read-only format, while several other features will no longer be available, including member subscriptions and the Shop.
Learn more

Chat | Daily Search | My GenForum | Community Standards | Terms of Service
Jump to Forum
Home: Regional: Countries: Ireland: Wexford

Post FollowupReturn to Message ListingsPrint Message

1880 Enniscorthy
Posted by: Info Tracey (ID *****4210) Date: August 10, 2010 at 09:00:25
  of 830

In April 1880, there is a letter to the Irish Times, with a list of electors of Enniscorthy, who objected to the treatment of Parnell when he visited the town.

2nd April 1880 Irish Times

We, the undersigned Electors of the Town of Enniscorthy, whilst indignantly ???ing all connection with the disgraceful scene enacted in our Town on Sunday, the 28th March instant, by the conduct of an organised mob in assulting and insulting Mr. Parnell, hereby express our deep sorrow that such should have occurred, and, to mark our strong condemation thereof, beg to tender our heartfelt regret to Mr. Parnell that the character of Enniscorthy should have been tarnished by the insult offered to him:-

Patrick Ryan, J. Donohoe T.C., Peter Ryan T.C., Henry B. O'Neill, Thomas Sinnott P.L.G., James Ryan, Patrick Fitzpatrick T.C., Edward Roche, J.N. Greene, Moses Leacy, George Browne, Edward Goff, Peter Bent, Robert Boyce, Peter White, Michael Jordan, Robert O'Leary T.C., William Fanning, John Downes, Maurice Murphy, Moses Lacy, Patrick O'Reilly, Francis Godfrey, Michael Jordan, Matthew Kelly, John Murphy T.C., John Scallan, William Royce, Timothy O'Farrell P.L.G., Aidan J. O'Farrell, Tobias Rositer T.C., Michael Boyne, Patrick Redmond, James Martin, Roger Procter, Robert Cosgrave, Jogn Gordan, John Martin, Michael Doyle, Peter Sheridan, Patrick Keating, William Murphy, John Bennett, Michael Moran, John O'Connell, Arthur Gahan, John Cullin, Owen Connelly, Thomas O'Brien T.C., John Doyle, Edward Stedmund, Patrick Whelan, Patrick Courtney, Thomas Moran, C. O'Neill, Aidan Harpur T.C., Michael Pingston, James Burke, James Goldie, Henry Wilson, Edward Walsh, Patrick Byrne, Richard Teeling, Richard B. Harris, John Byrne, John Malone, Richard Power, Thomas Harpur, Patrick Murphy, James Breen, John Doyle, Thomas How, Mark Codd, Daniel Cosgrave, Matthew Doyle, Thomas Brawder, Michael Lynch, Bulider, John Lambert, John Hogan, John O'Connor, William Fortune, John Byrne, Peter Roche, George Kelly, Richard Byrne, Joseph Doyle, Patrick Furlong, Christopher Kavanagh, Martin Kenny, Thomas O'Leary, John Whitford

Robert Allen White, Solicitor, James White, James Roche, Patrick Neville, John Kenny, Nicholas Colleton, Patrick J. Murphy, John Bolger, Val Murphy, James Lambert, Myles Lambert, William Roberts, Patrick Redmond, Laurence Murphy, Patrick Whelan, James Dempsey, Sylester Stamp, Thomas Murphy, John Stephenson, Patrick B. Ryan, Patrick O'Connor, sen, John Moran, John Murphy, Andrew Ryan, William Hayden, Thomas Slyo [Stye?], Myles Keogh, Matthew Tracy, Matthew Ryan, Syvester McGrath, John Quin, Nicholas Fortune, John Cavanagh, Patrick O'Reilly, James Rogers, Patrick Kavanagh, Michael Kavanagh, Jacob Boardman?, Stephen Devereux, James D. Breen, J.E. Rochford, H. Cadogan, O. Lacy, J. Dunne, David Kinsella, James Murphy, Francis O'Toole, John O'Rourke, William Hendrick, Nicholas Hendrick, Benjamin Nicholson, Lawrence Byrne, Thomas Byrne, William Moran, Joseph Connolly, Patrick O'Byrne, Richard Murphy, Daniel Jordan, J.and C. Smith, Merchants, James Murphy, Walter Sinnott, Grocer &c, Martin Doyle, William Proctor, Philip Cosgrave, Thomas Mythen, Peter Byrne, Mike Kavanagh, Aidan O'Brien, Patrick McGovern, Robert Devereux, Andrew Power, Arthur Johnson, John Ward, Mat Brennan, Michael Kirwan, Pat Brennan, Patrick Whelan, John Adams, Jas. Pembroke, John Dobbs, Phil Byrne, Tom Breen, James Murphy, John Walsh, Martin Foley, Nicholas Wickham, John Cowman, James Mullitt

[Garrett Michael Byrne (1829 – March 3, 1897) was an Irish nationalist and MP in the House of Commons of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland and as member of the Irish Parliamentary Party represented Co. Wexford, 1880-83, and West Wicklow, 1885-92. He was a strong supporter of Charles Stewart Parnell. He was selected as one of two Irish Home Rule Parnellite candidates for Wexford at the general election of 1880 over the sitting Home Ruler Keyes O'Clery, who was backed by the Catholic clergy. This led to a serious outbreak of violence at a meeting at Enniscorthy on Easter Sunday, 28 March 1880, in which Parnell himself was physically attacked. O’Clery went on to contest the election the following month, but Byrne was elected by a majority of over 2,000. In the vital vote of 17 May 1880 in which Parnell displaced William Shaw as chairman of the Home Rule League, Byrne voted for Parnell.]

Notify Administrator about this message?
No followups yet

Post FollowupReturn to Message ListingsPrint Message
Search this forum:

Search all of GenForum:

Proximity matching
Add this forum to My GenForum Link to GenForum
Add Forum
Home |  Help |  About Us |  Site Index |  Jobs |  PRIVACY |  Affiliate
© 2007 The Generations Network