
| Posted By: | Tom 0atney | |
| Email: | ![]() | |
| Subject: | Beware of a genealogy FAMILY YEARBOOK scam! | |
| Post Date: | January 24, 2004 at 05:28:45 | |
| Message URL: | http://genforum.genealogy.com/otteni/messages/8.html | |
| Forum: | Otteni Family Genealogy Forum | |
| Forum URL: | http://genforum.genealogy.com/otteni/ |
|
You may have seen this, but there is a company, called Morphcorp LLC, who is sending mailings to people across the entire United States. They are offering a "Book and CD ROM" purported to contain "all the <YOUR FAMILY NAME> records" at the pre-publication price of $34.95 plus a $5 order processing fee. I just got one for my family. These books do not contain family records. They normally contain addresses and phone numbers of folks with the same last name across the United States which is something you can get in any phone book on the internet. Based on Better Business Bureau files, this company has an unsatisfactory record due to a pattern of complaints. Complaints are concerning a range of problems, primarily about how the company's product is advertised and represented. Customers who purchase the product have alleged that it does not represent their specific family genealogy information. For more detailed information, go to http://www.ancestry.com/library/view/columns/eastman/5362.asp |