Posted By:Paul Merritt
Subject:Christine Koonce Obituary
Post Date:October 19, 2007 at 15:56:53
Message URL:
Forum:Koonce Family Genealogy Forum
Forum URL:

The following obituaries ran in the Friday, Oct. 19, 2007, edition of the Leesville Daily Leader.

Virginia Christine Koonce

Funeral services for Christine Koonce, 78, of Florien, will be held at 2 p.m., Friday, Oct. 19, 2007, in the chapel of Smart & Son Funeral Home in Leesville with Rev. James Hickman and Rev. Daniel Davis officiating.

Burial will follow in the Beckcom Cemetery in Hornbeck under the direction of the funeral home.

Visitation will be held from 4 p.m. until 9 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 18, and again on Friday, Oct. 19, from 8 a.m. until the time of service at the funeral home, located at 1352 Bellview Rd.

She was born on Dec. 18, 1928. A native of Center, Texas, and a member of Grace Assembly in Hornbeck, her family recalls how she loved the Lord and going to church, where she especially enjoyed the music. For 16 years, she worked at the lunch room of Hornbeck High School.

She passed away at 5:50 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 16, in the Sabine Medical Center.

She is preceded in death by her husband, Jay P. Koonce; parents Ernest and Belma Stephens Walls and brother Lester Walls.

The family that she so cherished includes her son and his wife, Paul David and Anna Koonce of Florien; daughters and their husbands, Virginia McClelland and Mark of Detroit, Mich., Charlotte Koonce and Medford Jeane of Anacoco, Linda Parker and Pete of Hornbeck, Kathleen David of Hornbeck and Janet Ebarb and Phil of Ebarb; eight grandchildren, Angela Fields, Gwen Bragg, Christy Guinn, Joey McClelland, Kisha Goldvarg, Scott Parker, Jason Ebarb and Christina David; 14 great-grandchildren, Kaitlyn Fields, Miranda Roberts, Madisyn Parker, Chloe Bragg, Brogan Bragg, Millie Bragg, Clare Bragg, Ethan Ebarb, Legend Ebarb, Madelyn Guinn, Nick Guinn, Quinlyn McClelland, Madilyn McClelland and Koty Walton; a host of nieces and nephews.

Pallbearers are Scott Parker, Gary Fields, Jason Ebarb, Bryan Guinn, Martin Bragg and Joey McClelland.

Honorary pallbearers are Mark McClelland, Pete Parker, Phil Ebarb, Medford Jeanes and Lane