Posted By:Patty Mackey
Subject:Re: Illinois Facts
Post Date:February 08, 2013 at 02:58:59
Message URL:
Forum:Illinois Genealogy Forum
Forum URL:

There are 102 Counties in the State of IL.
Also, Champaign county was once a part of Vermillion County.
Montgomery county was once a part of Macoupin county and was called Dane county for about a year.
After 1879, death certificates had to be filed.
Lots of old records were also maintained by the Churches and Dioceses, etc...
AND don't forget, Illinois was once a Territory as were most of the inland States, prior to Statehood.
And oh, yes, Piatt County was formed from a part of Macon and Dewitt counties...